Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Book Review & Giveaway: PARIAH by C.R. Richards

Welcome to my stop on the book review tour for Pariah by C.R. Richards, an urban fantasy novel released on September 15, 2014. This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Click on the banner to visit other stops on this tour.


http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/08/review-tour-pariah-by-cr-richards.html


BLURB


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MRLYPTW/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00MRLYPTW&linkCode=as2&tag=madhoy-20&linkId=EUA3VORD6SENDUWS
Millennia have passed since the corrupt of Seelie society were banished from Otherworld. Abandoned in the Human Realm, their Descendants keep to the shadows, secretly controlling criminal organizations and swaying governments. Jin, a Seelie Descendant, refuses to swear allegiance to any Clan. Marked as a pariah, he is banished from their society. One ill-fated evening, Jin breaks the rules to visit the family he left behind. A chance meeting with an old enemy draws him into a murderous plot that could propel the Human Realm into a bloody war. His warning of insurrection goes unheeded. Determined to keep the plan secret, the conspirator summons an ancient demon with a taste for Seelie blood. It's reward? A pound of Jin's flesh.

On the run with a Death Mark on his head, Jin is desperate to find the cunning spider behind the conspiracy. With the help of Gracie Berry, a pre-cognitive with a hidden past, Jin searches for their allusive enemy before his ruthless hunters find their target.


EXCERPT



The parking lot behind the warehouse looked like a parking lot at a mortician's convention. Black limousines and sedans lined the blacktop under the morning Vegas sun. Jin passed them by with a derisive grunt. Then hope sparkled as a blue gem among coal. A blue Lamborghini Aventado Roadster glittered like a rock star at the end of the line of bulky sedans. He hurried over to run his hands along its sexy lines.

"Daddy like," Jin hummed under his breath. He lifted the door up and slid down into the sleek leather seat. The owner of this beautiful piece of automotive perfection hadn't locked it. In Jin's book, that meant the super-car wasn't being properly taken care of—an egregious sin. The cretin didn't deserve to own her. It was time she had someone behind the wheel who truly respected and adored every inch of her fine carbon fiber frame.

"Oh no, we are not stealing a car!" Gracie's bare feet danced on the hot pavement.

Jin pointed at the group of Seelie Descendants running toward them. Gracie yelped and raced around to the other side of the Lambo. Her fist banged on the door with an unacceptable level of disrespect for the super-car. For a brief moment, Jin considered leaving her and then motioned up with his hands. She got the hint and lifted the car door. The golden fabric crept up her bare thighs as she fell down into the seat. Her hand tugged at the hem when she caught him looking.


MY REVIEW


Pariah is officially in my top five funnest books to read list this year.

The novel opens with the worst dinner party ever. EVER. I loved that author dropped us into exciting action early in the book. No stringing you along for action until chapter 10. The novel's storyline is complex and entertaining. There is a motley crew of secondary characters that really add depth to the story and help move the plot forward.

What I liked most about the story is that it kept me guessing all of the way through. I couldn't figure out how Jin was going to clear himself of a frame up and prevent the Human Realm from falling into a war. I also liked that Jin (in all his shady angst) was dedicated to doing the right thing even though the Seelie society and his family turned their backs on him.

I simultaneously felt bad for and wanted to shake Gracie Berry. Being a pre-cognitive with a hidden past is no joke, but has its funny moments. I laughed aloud when Gracie went to the Las Vegas police to report a Seelie-related kidnapping. How many wild stories must the police hear in Vegas?


Pariah is an exciting page-turner – an intriguing mix of fantasy, mystery, romance, and adventure. And the book's cover is awesome looking! It lured me right into its pages. As Gracie would say, "Gawd!" I look forward to the author’s next book.


Recommended for:
  • Fans of Urban Fantasy
  • Fans of Action and Adventure

NOTE: I received a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. I'd like to have some Seelie abilities and the Lambo - just for a week or so.


AUTHOR Bio and Links


C. R. Richards is the award winning author of The Mutant Casebook Series. Her literary career began as a part-time columnist for a small entertainment newspaper. She wore several hats: food critic, entertainment reviewer and cranky editor. A lover of horror and dark fantasy stories, she enjoys telling tales of intrigue and adventure. Her most recent literary projects include the horror short story, Lost Man's Parish and the newly released novel length dark fantasy thriller, Pariah. She is an active member of EPIC and Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers.

Author Website

Blog: Deep Thoughts and Junk

FB Page: authorcrrichards

Twitter: @CR_Richards

Amazon Author Page: C. R. Richards 

Available for Purchase


Print

Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/Pariah-C-R-Richards/dp/0990669408/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1410712332&sr=8-1&keywords=pariah+richards

Createspace - https://www.createspace.com/4971463


EBook

Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MRLYPTW

Barnes and Noble - http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/pariah-c-r-richards/1120171710?ean=2940046094909

Smashwords - https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/465845

Also available on iBooks.

GIVEAWAY


The author will be awarding a $25 Amazon Gift Card to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $25 Amazon Gift Card to a randomly drawn host.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. Thanks Mary! It was fun writing about mythical creatures on the Vegas Strip :)

      Delete
  2. Good Morning! Thank you for hosting today :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Loved this excerpt a lot and I thought the review was outstanding. I really enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the excerpt. It's one of my favorite spots in the book :)

      Delete
  4. Thank you for hosting me today. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds very intriguing and very different from what I've read which is always hard to find. Looking forward to reading this.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Amy. I hope you enjoy the book :)

      Delete
  6. Congratulations to Tonya Coleman - Winner of the Pariah Giveaway!
    And Congratulations to Ashley's Paranormal Book Blog - Winner of the randomly drawn Host GC!

    ReplyDelete